ripple baby1

ripple, baby!

Something soft, something small, and something colourful of course!  A new baby in the extended family means baby crafts!  I knew I only had a short while to whip something up and so I went to my stash and found the Deramore’s Stylecraft Special DK that I have been hoarding, picked out some colours that did it for me, and hopefully will for the babe, and whipped this “baby” off in just a few days.  Of course it also happens to be when we’re experiencing our hottest weather of the year (hovering around 30 celsius), but that’s what fans are for, right?  But yeah, I’m that weird lady crocheting a blanket in hot summer weather.

ripple baby2

It’s been nice to take a wee break from the yarn making business and do something fun and totally addicting.  Crocheting always grabs me tight and I can’t stop till it’s done.  I wake up thinking about when I can get back to it!

IMG_6736

  • The Pattern is Attic24’s Neat Ripple.  This is my second Ripple and her pattern is written very clearly and it is detailed with photos.
  • Five colours: Aspen, Spring Green, Pomegranate, Cloud Blue and Saffron.
  • It measures 24″ by 32″.
  • Ravelry project link.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

I’m waiting for a huge shipment of yarn to be delivered tomorrow so that I can get the dye pots fired up again.  One thing I learned from our market booth is that the blues are hot.  Give the people what they want is my motto!  And I love the blues too, so I’ll be happy quite to be tangled up in blue yarn!

In the meantime, I’m spinning some lovely merino/silk roving into yarn.

merino silk roving

I dyed them last week and have a fan parked next to my wheel, which is next to my big container of ice water to sip on, which is next to an open window, which looks out on my garden, which needs a good watering before I sit back at that wheel this morning.

Hope the summer is treating you well!

Published by

kate

I’m a crafting gal who’s very lucky to have a great husband, three terrific kids and one fat cat. Originally from Southern California, I’ve lived in beautiful British Columbia for over 25 years and raised my family in this lovely corner of the world.

2 thoughts on “ripple, baby!”

Leave a Reply

